Artists announced for Bideford Black: The Next Generation

Flow Contemporary Arts in association with Claire Gulliver is pleased to share the names of the artists and film maker selected for the Bideford Black: Next Generation commissions for Burton Art Gallery, Bideford, Devon.

The artists are:
Tabatha Andrews (Devon) http://tabathaandrews.co.uk
ATOI (Cornwall) http://www.atoiarts.org
Luce Choules (Henley on Thames) http://lucechoules.wordpress.com
Corinne Felgate (Dorset/London) http://www.corinnefelgate.com
Neville and Joan Gabie (Gloucestershire) http://www.nevillegabie.com/works/antarctica/emailing-antarctica/
Littlewhitehead (Lanarkshire) http://www.littlewhitehead.com/littlewhitehead.htm
Lizzie Ridout (Cornwall) http://www.lizzieridout.com/index.html
Sam Treadaway (Bristol) http://samtreadaway.com

The project film maker is Liberty Smith http://vimeo.com/libertysmith. Liberty lives and works in London and went to school in Hartland, near Bideford. She will be creating a documentary film to record the artists’ progress over the coming year.

We welcome The National Trust and Ian Cooke of The University of Exeter to the project and thank them for supporting the artists in their research and development phase.

An exhibition of the final works will open to the public in the autumn of 2015.

Bideford Black is a unique pigment found only in Bideford, Devon, UK. Bideford Black: The Next Generation connects the heritage of the area with the tradition of using it as an artist’s material, commissioning and documenting its use by contemporary artists, developing a greater understanding of this rare material in a contemporary artistic context.

Bideford Black – The Next Generation is a Burton Art Gallery project produced and curated in association with Flow Contemporary Arts and Claire Gulliver. It is supported using public funding by the National Lottery through Arts Council England.

Follow the project blog: http://bidefordblack.blogspot.co.uk

Flow Contemporary Arts http://www.flowprojects.org.uk
Claire Gulliver http://www.clairegulliver.co.uk

Advertisements

One thought on “Artists announced for Bideford Black: The Next Generation

  1. Stella Levy

    Claire, any chance of a chat at White Moose gallery, Trinity St, Barnstaple. We are working with an artist on a major project and it would be great if you could give some feedback on applying for funding and co-ordinating the project. We are open 11am – 5pm Mon – Sat, so if you’re in the area, do pop in – kettle’s always on! Stella x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s